should i turn my cards all the right way ?

moonstone

merry meet, hi there ive been practising tarot for a few weeks now.i'm really unsure what to do after ive cleansed them. i feel the urged to check that all the cards are the right way up.i am learning with the beginners guide to tarot by juliet sharman-burke and i really love them and feel that these cards are for me. it doesnt say anything in the book about reversed meanings so are they all meant to be read in the upright position? i hope someone out there can help me solve this question. many thanks and blessed be moonstone x

Sulis

Hi moonstone,

Welcome to Aeclectic.

Reversals are really a matter of personal taste. Some people always read with them, some people never read with them.

As a beginner, I would advise you to get to grips with the cards upright before you start tackling them reversed (if you ever do :)), you'll have enough to be going on with there, believe me.

If you check out the 'note threads' at the top of this forum, you'll find loads of old threads on reversals. Here's a link: How to read - links to all questions about reading

Have fun with your tarot journey.

Love

Sulis xx

Fulgour

Reversals are for Car Parks

Juliet Sharman-Burke makes the happy observation
that reading anything upside down is rather difficult,
and since Tarot is often read intuitively, reversals
are not always helpful, and can even be confusing.

Since she has left reversed meanings out of her book
it is safe to say that she is hoping the point is made
to keep the cards upright, just the way they're drawn.

My opinion is that if someone is going to read a card
upside down, why not then read it backwards as well?

Flidais

Fulgour said:
...which is exactly what A.T. Mann has us doing with his Mandala Astrological Tarot - LOL! The cards are square, and can be drawn upright, upside down, upper title to the left, or upper title to the right.

Moonstone, as has already been said, it's up to you. Enjoy! :)

Ace