How did you learn the Tarot?

Kira

I have always felt a deep attraction to the spiritual side of life, so learning the Tarot just felt right. I know it's not as simple as picking up the cards and being able to read immediately, but although I am still very new at this, those I have read for in the beginning have said that they were very pleased. I was extremely eager to become an experienced reader.

Things don't always go as planned though, and for a while, life took me away from my studies of the Tarot. I have recently picked up my deck once again, ready and eager to learn... because I am still a very new student.

I was just wondering... how did you learn to read the cards? Did you pick up a book and study, or did you just pick up one card each day and let it teach you? I bought a book when I bought my cards, and have taken many more out of the library. I've downloaded a computer program and visit multiple sites online. I'm just not sure how to go about it all. Don't get me wrong.. I do realize that it takes much practice and patience. ;)

I do think however that the deck I have is a bit vague for my liking. It hasn't steered me wrong so far, but when I do a reading (usually for myself or family members) I have to use my book to interpret the cards. I'm a very visual person, so I think maybe I need more of an illustrative deck than the one I have now. The minors are simply pictures of what each card is (ex: 7 of wands is just 7 wands) Maybe if I get a more detailed deck, I won't feel as frustrated, not knowing what I'm really seeing...?? As of right now, I'm more able to tell what each card means (because of the use of my book) than to tell the querent an actual answer to their question.

I would love some input on this! I'm more excited now than ever to learn!

Little Baron

What is the name of the deck you are using Kira?

LB

Kira

LittleBuddha said:
What is the name of the deck you are using Kira?

LB