Tucson mineral show 2014 in review (with pictures of goodies!)

Vashii

In February of this year I had the glorious experience of going to the Tucson gem show for the first time. I'd love to share pictures and a little of what I experienced out there. I went because I am a bench jeweler living on the east coast and there are very few shows that sell the kind of stones and crystals I am looking for: raw/uncut and unique stones. If I wanted diamonds and emeralds, I would buy from the same places online that I buy all my other faceted stones. I wanted to touch and feel the stones before I bought them, not just look at pictures.

I stayed in Tucson for a week out of the month long riot of wonder that is the Tucson gem show (which is really 40+ gem, mineral, and fossil shows occurring simultaneously all over the city from the end of January to the end-ish of February). Everyone I spoke to told me that there was nothing like it in the entire world. Having not visited the entire wold, I cannot speak to the accuracy of such statements. What I can say is that it put things like the Natural History Museum's gem and mineral exhibit to utter shame on a scale that is almost incomprehensible. I walked the shows for 5-8 hours a day, every day for a week and saw maybe 1/3 of what there was to see.