Aeclectic Tarot
Tarot Cards & Reviews Free Tarot Readings Tarot Books Tarot Card Meanings Tarot Forum

Conver reconstructions

> Aeclectic Tarot Forum > Tarot Special Interest > Marseilles & Other Early Decks

Resident

xaphoo 
Conver reconstructions

Over the last two weeks, for reasons unknown, I've suddenly become deeply interested in the historical Tarot, not as a divinatory device, but as an artifact of late medieval and early modern popular culture, richly clothed in allegorical meanings from the moment of their invention - and beautifully open to modern-day poetics that can populate this world that has been vacated by symbols and angels. By profession I am a historian of the pre-modern period, so meditating on the images of the cards helps me approach their object in both an inner and outer sense.

I have the Flornoy Dodal on the way and also a Soprafino, because I find both of them beautiful. However, I really want a Conver as well, and unfortunately with the passing of Y. Ben-Dov I cannot order his deck. I have been warned away from the Camoin-Jodorowsky deck (though I like Jodorowsky's book), and can't find an affordable Grimaud or Hadar, so I don't know what other historically-minded Conver reconstructions are available.

For someone like me who wants a faithful Conver reconstruction (not a facsimile) for study, meditation, "open reading", and possibly a little game-playing, what is left?
Top   #1
Citizen

Lee 

Hi xaphoo, welcome to Aeclectic!

The Conver TdM is categorized as a TdM 2, and the earliest TdM 2 deck I believe is the Madenie. Yves, an AT member, sells a very highly-regarded Madenie reproduction, here is a recent thread about his latest edition, including a link to the store on his site. Edited to add: Here is a link to Yves' store where you can purchase. Here is the Aeclectic entry for Yves' first edition.

Another Madenie reproduction, this one newly-drawn, is the Mary Packard one available on Amazon.