Adapting your favorite book(s) to Tarot?

mj07

I hope I'm putting this in the right place. I'm not necessarily planning on creating a deck for publication, indeed, not for anyone else but myself, but, am looking for advice, wondering if anyone else has done this.

The other day I started thinking how certain characters from a series of books I love would make excellent Court Cards. I have a difficult time understanding the Court and thought that applying characters I know well to them it would aid in my understanding of Tarot. Then I went on to try and figure out what I would do with the Majors, pips, etc. Now, although I'm a graphic designer, I'm not any good at drawing, so I didn't really consider actually CREATING the deck. But, the more I thought about it, the more useful I think it would be for me, personally.

I presented the idea to an online aquaintence who is also into the same series of books (FYI I'm talking about the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series, about 11 books at the moment). She takes a different perspective from me and thinks the major characters should be Majors, not Court cards, though to ME, they don't really fit as Majors, at least, not the way she envisions it.

Granted, as I said, I'm doing this for my own benefit, so I'll take or leave her suggestions. My question is, has anyone else tried to do this, adapt your favorite book, series of books, or comic books, whatever, to the tarot? I can't help but see the Court cards as actual characters, but I wonder, would the Majors be best as other characters in the books, or perhaps as events, (though, events might better conform to the pips...?), symbols, whatever? Do you think the major characters would be Majors, automatically?

Any imput is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Mar

HudsonGray