Question on Illuminated Tarot

rmcfarron

I've been looking through old messages on this deck. While I'm not planning on buying it at present, it is on my wishlist for someday. I was wondering for those of you who have/use it, does the switch of Justice/Strength and the different names for some cards (Hierophant/Initiate, Hanged Man/Unconscious, Death/Transformation) trouble you at all? I'm new to tarot and reading/practicing with my PCSC deck and finding it quite easy to use in that the meanings really seem to flow for me. I think the artwork on the Illuminated is divine, but wonder if it might not be a bit distracting. I'd love to hear what more experienced readers think. As always, thanks to all!

Le Fanu

I've a feeling that when you buy it you can request from the artist that the deck has traditional titles.

I got mine in a trade and the renamed cards (like the Hermit, The Fool) bother me a bit.

I'd have asked for mine to have the original names if I'd ordered it myself.

Debra

The images are so clear. I ignore the titles.

Rasa

Normally, I don't like renamed cards, but the ones in this deck don't bother me too much. I usually don't pay much attention to the titles when I'm reading with the Illuminated, because the images really draw me in.

If I'm doing a reading for a client, I usually refer to the cards by their traditional names. I might point out the alternate name if it seems relevant to the reading.

I don't think (although I could be wrong..) that she offers an option about traditional titles anymore. I think different versions of her deck come with titles done in particular ways, but I don't think you can customize them.

I love, love, LOVE the Illuminated Tarot.
The handpainted decks especially have a really special feel to them, and the glitter and irridescent paint is just beautiful. they also hold up well to a lot of use... They're well worth the high price tag, in my opinion!

photokat

What Debra said.