Several Sephiroth

Farzon

I know there is a thread on newbie questions, but it seems to have gotten out of control, so I figured I might as well start a new one for this specific question.

I´m reading Tarot and the Magus by Paul Hughes Barlowe right now. I´m a bit puzzled about statements of his about other trees of life - what does he mean? Trees from other persons? Isn´t the tree the way God manifests in the different worlds?

Then, I understand that Malkuth from a higher level can be Kether to a sephiroth on the plane below. But why does Barlowe then say, the trees connect at Tiferet? ("the junction between the two")

So you see, I´m an absolute noob to Kabbalah. I just know the more popular Tarot-related basics. So please go easy on me ;-)

Zephyros

Tough questions, but good ones. :)

Ok, Let's start at the beginning. Firstly, you should understand that although the Tree of Life is shown as a one-dimensional, linear diagram, it is actually anything but. Statements about it that are mutually incompatible may both be true. So, when it suits our purposes, we can look at the "entire" Tree as four Trees, one atop the other, showing how the four worlds develop one from the other. However, this implies that each world has no connection with the other, which is incorrect. There is a little of every world in every other worlds, although this takes a little mental gymnastics to see clearly. The astrological attributions, for example. help with this. For Tarot purposes, at least, this division is most useful.

Another way to deal with the four worlds is to divide the Tree internally, with Keter and Chochma in Atziluth; Binah in Briah; Chesed, Geburah, Tiphareth, Netzah, Hod and Yesod in Yetzirah and Malkuth in Assiah. this division is interesting in that it really delineates the roles each emanation takes on.