TdM deck recommendation for tarot newbie?

Aster Breo

Which Marseilles reproduction deck would you recommend to someone just learning tarot? And why?

Thanks!

Nemia

I'm no expert so I'm sure you'll get better recommendations but I'd recommend the YBD (correct: CBD!) Tarot with Yoav Ben Dov's book. It gives you everything you need to start reading this TdM, restored and "smoothed" by Yoav Ben Dov, out of the box. It doesn't have the roughness and imperfection of some historical decks, but its clarity makes it, at least for me, an ideal learning deck. I bought other decks from the TdM tradition later, and Ben Dov's book helped me work with them, too.

Michellehihi

I love reading with Marseille decks and I have a lot of them. If you want the vintage feeling, get the Madenie reproduction. If you don't mind computer images, Nemia's suggestion is fine. If you like bright colours, the Fournier Marseille.

Moonlit Hermit

After reading Alejandro Jodorowsky's Way of Tarot the Camoin Marseilles deck is now the one I use daily. Interpretation of the minors is different from the Rider Waite deck so that might be cumbersome for some people. But if you are new to tarot it shouldn't be a problem.

shaveling

My advice is like Michellehihi's: pick the deck that appeals to you, on the basis of the artwork and the size of the cards and such. Whether the deck is an old or modern version, clean lines or messy & ambiguous, are also issues for some people. But I don't think there is a deck that's particularly suited to people new to the TdM.