which "Soprafino" deck?

Double Headed Secret

Sorry, I'm quite new to my Tarot obsession, so I apologise if this has been discussed in the past. I am curious to hear from people who have seen these decks which one is "better"...? Il Meneghello's Tarocco Soprafino or Solleone's Tarocchino Lombardo ? Are these editions usable or too delicate for daily use ? Are Lo Scarabeo's Ancient Italian Tarot a better bet ? Does this Il Meneghello deck has the edges not cut properly ?

Many thanks!

Miss Woo

Soprafino Tarot (Il Meneghello) is the most beautiful in my opinion. I own it. I think it is the most beautiful deck ever made.

http://www.aeclectic.net/tarot/cards/soprafino/

You can buy it from Arnell's Art in Italy.

http://www.arnellart.com/osvaldo/taro-cl-soprafino.htm

eta

Sorry, I didn't answer your questions...

It's a limited edition of only 2000 copies (I think), so it's pretty special and I would handle it carefully.

Yes, the corners are quite sharp, and that is my only quibble, but you can have them rounded.

gregory

You can also get it from alida.

I think both decks are perfectly lovely; I would hesitate to say which was "better". The Lombardo is a lot harder to find, so if you think you might want both in the end, since the Soprafino is still very reasonably priced, I'd go for the Lombardo, and look to the other later :).

I own both, and both are fine for everyday use.

mrpants

Hey DHS, a couple things:

The LoS Ancient Italian is actually a different deck. It's great, but many of the cards differ in style; for example, IV The Emperor, 2 cups, ace cups. The color palate is much different as well; lots of yellow and green. The Soprafino cards far outshine the LoS in this regard, but that may be a matter of opinion. Also, the LoS deck is bigger than the Lombardo (To all: is Soprafino the same size as Lombardo?? I thought it much bigger!). It's the standard LoS size and stock, with rounded edges. Shuffles well, will stand up to heavy use.