Help Request: Poetry Spread?

Purplemoonsong

Hi everyone! I'm new to the Aeclectic Tarot community, and I was wondering if anyone had any spreads for writing poetry? I've seen spreads for creative writing in general, but majority of those seem more geared towards novels than poetry.

Any help is appreciated! Thank you in advance!

illyria

Poetry Spread

Hi, Purplemoonsong.

I was intrigued by your question, so I created this simple spread for writing poetry that can, hopefully, inspire you.

…..2…..
5…1…3
…..4…..

Card 1 - SITUATION/FOCUS
Identifies the heart of the piece, or its emotional center

Card 2 - POINT OF VIEW
Recommends whether the point of view of the piece is written from the first, second or third person
Minor Arcana: first-person POV (self-rumination)
Courts: second-person POV (addresses the reader)
Major Arcana: third-person POV (talks about a person, place, thing or idea)

Card 3 - MOOD
Suggests the pervading emotional theme of the piece; also identifies emotional undercurrents and influences
Is the piece melancholy? Observant? Righteous?

Card 4 - ACTION
Shows the dynamic of the piece, whether actions or non-actions are moving the narrative along, or holding it back

Card 5 - CONCLUSION
Determines how to close the piece, or conversely, how to leave it open-ended

Poetry_Spread.jpg

Here's a sample spread I did with The Fountain Tarot, and the resulting verse that I wrote from it.
Lines 1 to 4 show Cards 1 to 3 coming into play.
Line 5 shows the action, which corresponds to Card 4.
Last line, Line 6, is the conclusion, which is Card 5 in the spread.

(Line 1) When asked how the darkness felt on our fingertips,
(Line 2) we answered, separately,
(Line 3) in our separate interrogation rooms:
(Line 4) "massive and illuminated, with a maelstrom in the middle."
(Line 5) We took our resting heart rates and averaged them.

(Line 6) There is nothing heavier than almost dying.