Beginner Question

Migdal93

Hi all! Hope it's ok to post this here, since the question is about the TdM.

I'm a complete beginner to tarot. Have felt drawn to the cards for many years but I finally found it was time to start working with them. (Working in the sense of learning and such, not of actually making readings for others. One day though, who knows!)

My question is - I see so many people telling beginners to use the Rider Waite. It's a beautiful deck for sure, but I don't feel the same strong, instant connection to it as I feel with the TdM. Seriously, when I searching for the decks in a store, I got the RW in my hands and thought how beautiful it looked. But when I touched the TdM I had this strong urge to it. I started shaking. It was a very intense moment, I was not expecting it.

The biggest difference between the two is how the pips are illustrated on the RW. My biggest fear is finally buying my TdM but not being able to read the pips, as they are very basic.

As a complete beginner, am I taking a big leap here? Should I hold my horses and start a bit more simpler? Or should I just go with my intuition?

Thank you :)

Abrac

Personally, I'd trust your intuition. I don't have a preference one way or the other for TdM or RWS, but I'm a big believer in listening to your own inner guidance. :)

Chèvre

Same as Abrac !

A feeling is something precious, and such a strong feeling as the one you had with TdM, well, its kinda rare, so I feel you should listen to yourself...

No problem if you dont have the use of the pips for now. Give you some time. You can very well use only 1-22 trumps; I mean from Le Bateleur to Le Monde + Le Mat and practice with that. Or you can use all the 78 cards, and see what happens. Sometimes, you wont have the use of all the cards, and sometimes the pips will give you a clue or a tip of some kind...

Say, you make a reading, and amongst the 3 cards you draw, there is a 4 of Cups, for exemple.