Is everyone using computers to create decks these days?

StMary

It would seem to me that it would mean more and be more intimate if they were done by hand. Probably charge more too...

I'm an artist that's worked in multiple mediums, and even doing something with some nice coloured pencils (everything Prisma makes is amazing). There's a menagerie of artists tools out there and this would seem the place to use them. To me anyway :)

I was just curious and wanted to hear some feedback.

I'm also very open to being educated in this department. I know how it's done in the tattoo world, but not this one. So, I appreciate anything I can learn from this site.

donnalee

I know nothing about how people do anything really, but I do know that a lot of decks these days look really computer-generated, like screen shots from video games, and I won't buy those decks since they have no personal feel or meaning to me at all. I think a lot of the decks are also sort of photo-montage where photos get stuff stuck on them to create a painting of sorts. Some of those decks I have, but they just don't feel so real to me either.

Good luck with whatever art projects you are working on--I think a lot of tarot readers love to see unique and yet usable decks.

nisaba

<smile> Our very own TarotBear's deck seems hand-drawn. I like it for that reason. It's less polished, less charismatic but more touching and human.

I'm not familiar with the tattoo world. Both times I got inked, I went to a local guy, we looked on the net for images something like I wanted, he imported them into a file, then played with them through photoshop until I was completely happy. Then he printed them out onto a stencil-thingie to transfer onto my skin. Is that how they generally do things? I'm never going to be the Painted Woman, but if I have any more work done, I'll go to the same guy. Not even the same business - the same individual.

Babalon Jones