9-The Hermit! In learning you teach, and in teaching you will learn!

Owl Tarot

Welcome folks, welcome to yet another Thoth Trump! As some of you (hopefully this one will attract more then one posters), I decided to start weekly threads about some of the thoughts and interpretations, as they come to me the moment I am writing, of the Trump I am currently studying. It is the third time I undergo this process (of weekly Trump study I mean) because in the previous two I gained further insight about the cards so I decided to follow this process yet again, but with a slightly different twist in it! So, anyone willing and available to provide some thoughts and opinions for me to work and contemplate about would be appreciated! I also hope my thoughts as of this post and moment help you!

IX- The Hermit

Trump associated to Virgo- Ruled by Mercury, also exalted in it

20th Path, connecting Chesed to Tiphareth. Hebrew letter: Yod

Book of Thoth said:
This card is attributed to the letter Yod, which means the Hand. Hence, the hand, which is the tool or instrument par excellence, is in the centre of the picture. The letter Yod is the foundation of all the other letters of the Hebrew alphabet, which are merely combinations of it in various ways.

The letter Yod is the first letter of the name Tetragrammaton, and this symbolizes the Father, who is Wisdom; he is the highest form of Mercury, and the Logos, the Creator of all worlds. Accordingly, his representative in physical life is the spermatozoon; this is why the card is called The Hermit.