Refreshing a Tarot deck

Aromage

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie in Tarot reading and recently I've read about refreshing a tarot deck after using it for a while. Some documents say that we have to do it to refresh the energy in the deck, but others say that it depends on the reader to do it or not. So, is it necessary to refresh a tarot deck? And if we don't, could we still be able to read it accurately? I hope to see some opinion about this subject from everyone, thank you.

barefootlife

I think the answer to this is probably 'you do you'. Sometimes I pick up a deck and feel inspired to re-order it, or turn around all the reversals. If I haven't used a deck in awhile, I'll handle it, shuffling the cards and just kind of brushing off the metaphorical dust. Store your cards with crystals if that seems right to you, cleanse them in moonlight, toss them in your bag and carry them everywhere, sleep with them under your pillow. The thing about this hobby is that you don't 'have' to do anything, since it's all about intuition. Does it seem right to you? Then do it.

Farzon

Completely agree!

Tarot cards are not like rechargeable batteries, so I don't think they need any kind of refreshing. When I started reading I used to put them back in order every time.

I think it's all about believing. Do you feel your cards need cleansing or something the like? Then my guess would be that you are the one in need for some ritual to mark a new start. And rituals can be very beautiful! So if you like to refresh them in some way just go ahead. But if it's starting to bother you, remember to stay open to new ways of treating your cards and your reading practice.

decan

I never thought about to "refresh" a deck.
Well, it depends on what do you really mean by "refresh"; if you mean recharge I don't see the need for doing it (personally).