Keying my set of cards

makaveli610

Hi, I'm new to this particular art and just purchased a set of cards. I am in the process of researching each individual card. My question is this: before I begin the use of the deck, I was told i had to key it. So I was wondering, what do I need to key the cards and how do I do it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

AJ

Welcome to the AT forum, this is a wonderful place to soak up a lot of learning. Also to sort out myths and misinformation.

Can you be more specific about what you think 'key a deck' means?
I've not heard of that term, but I've read a lot of odd suggestions related to new decks.

My first thought would be that you write a 'key word' on each card. I wouldn't recommend it myself. The Majors in the deck will have the name of the card on it, the minors will probably (not knowing what you've purchased) have the suit and number on it.
The problem with key words is none of the cards will always mean the same thing each time you use it. For instance in a daily draw of a single card, the card might mean something totally different to you, vs. what that card might be expressing within a spread done for someone else.

Hope that doesn't confuse...

Furnacechant

I think what might be meant is by it is attuning yourself to the deck by means of some personal ritual---This is sometimes accomplished by means of some literal magical ritual such as burning incense and sleeping with the deck under your pillow for a specific number of nights, but I think more practically by simply looking through the deck and familarizing yourself with the cards, meditating on each for a few minutes.

Of course, if you like to have a more formal ritual as well( I like to find a special reading cloth for each deck, but that's easy for me because I sew and have lots of fabric around to choose from), that is well and good, but I definitely think just looking over the cards and getting a feel for them before using them is the most important part.