Question: 5 of pentacles

tamieya05

What would be a good example of 5 of pentacles from your perception?

LeFou

More than 20 years ago, I was an aspiring pop musician. Every day, I practiced for hours, wrote songs and then went to my day-job. I was supporting one small child, plus my wife, who was also 7+ months pregnant.

My day-job was laying people off, with a two-month severance. I asked what would happen if I took the severance, because I was -sure- that I was only a couple months away from music super-stardom. Just one card came up -- 5 of Coins.

Of course I was horrified, but it was very good advice. Everyone at the company was laid off -except- me. I stayed for at least several more years, and it led to a new career (unrelated to music). While I loved music with a passion, in retrospect, I wasn't very talented.

So 5 of Coins as "poverty and homelessness" persuaded me to change my plans, and it was the best advice I ever got. It was also one of the first readings I ever had. Sometimes, one card is all you need.

SunChariot

For me, and I have somewhat unique meanings, the 5 of Pents would be talking about someone setting the goals they do in their life because of their upbringing and because they feel it's expected of them without having stopped to think if those goals are actually right for them.

A good example for me would be someone taking courses in school to become something their parents always wanted them to be, or to take over their family business. Just because it's expected of them.

Setting goals to do or become something because its expected of them, That could be related to peer pressure as well. Could be anything really, like feeling you need to set up your family and career in a certain way because that's how everyone does it. Without thinking if there is a better way that suits you better. ....

Babs

Emma313

For me, A lesson in counting your blessings ESPECIALLY when you have them and still when you dont have many at any one time