Best Books/Techniques to Better Understand the Thoth?

TheHangedMan

I have been using the Thoth for about two years now and although my understanding of the cards has grown I am still at a loss for some of its symbolisms and interpretations.

That being said, the Thoth has always called to me and I feel a deep connection to it.

Are there any correspondent books or literature that you would recommend that I might be able to procure and would allow me to gain further knowledge on this deck?

Any suggestions are appreciated.

herself

Hi HangedMan,

I'm no expert, but the main recommendations for the Thoth usually include Crowley's Book of Thoth, as well as the Thoth-related books by Lon Milo Duquette (e.g. the Chicken Quabalah, and his take on Crowley's book).

But I'm sure the pros will be here soon to offer their faves!

(You could also try having a nose around the Thoth Special Interest area here. It's mind-boggling, in an awesome way :D)

Grigori

I would suggest starting with DuQuette's "Understanding the Thoth Tarot". It's an ideal introduction IMO and explains the system and logic behind the Thoth deck, and how it is different that other decks and why. It's also an enjoyable read, and demystifies a lot of the heavier magical content in the Thoth. Snuffin's book is quite good for interpreting the symbols in readings, and I find Banzaf's books really useful for readings also. These would set you up well and you could then get into Crowley's own book which is very useful, but a bit dense to begin with.

Aeric

Liber 777 by Crowley is extremely helpful to understand many of the symbols put into the imagery. He mentions what the symbols are when analyzing cards in the Book of Thoth, but often doesn't go into much detail about what they mean on their own. Liber 777 is a distillation of symbols and correspondences, including Tarot symbols, and would make anyone interested in correspondences foam at the mouth with list after list of patterns and links.

Zephyros