Sybilla/Lenormand

nisaba

Ignorant question from not a huge oracle user here: what's the technical difference between a Lenormand and a Sybilla deck?

kalliope

Err, I'm no expert, but I'll describe them as best I can:

The Lenormand deck is a standard set of 36 cards always with the same symbols for each number, no titles. The symbols are things like Clover, Bear, Star, Fox, Snake, Anchor, Scythe, Heart. Traditionally I think they were mostly read in a Grand Tableau of all 36 cards, and with certain methods like distance and grammar-like card combining, although shorter spreads are used too, like the lines of 5 or 9, or the 3x3. Reverals aren't used.

The Sybillas/Sibillas, whether Italian or French, seem to be all 52 card decks, one for each of the playing cards. The cards aren't numbered (although they do have numbers on them that I think are supposed to be gambling numbers,) but have straightforward titles like Money, Thief, Servant, Soldier, Regret, Melancholy, Married Woman, Jealousy, Misfortune, Enemy, Love, Hope, Joy, Surprise, Luck, Wedding, Priest, Doctor, etc. They usually have a couple of additional words or meanings listed. There isn't a lot available about them in English, but I believe they are usually read in smaller spreads, and reversals are used. They're fun to play with!

nisaba

Thank you.

Lady Freya

yes, but the sibillas are numbered, on the top right hand corner. There is actually a lot of information about them in English that has just been released in a book at

http://www.italiancartomancy.com/

there you can also find videos of all the cards.... I find them a lot better than the Lenormand, but that is just me....

kalliope