Self-Study Suggestions (Jung, Symbolism, Etc.)

stone_lotus

In the next few months I'm going to be having a few hours of spare time every week in my office, and I'd like to spend it doing something more constructive than surfing the Internet, which was my first instinct. ; )

I'm a novice tarot reader and have been studying a lot lately, so I thought a more formal stretch of self-study, or even an online course, would be in order. I do very well with structured things, deadlines, etc. (read: not a huge self-starter; prone to procrastination if left to own devices).

I've been interested for a while in Jung and how his theories of archetypes relate to the tarot. Also interested in the symbolism of the tarot (RWS).

Any recommendations on courses, self-study programs, etc. that you've had success with? A book would work too probably, as long as there were clear assignments/exercises to do and a sense of progression through to some sort of end.

Thanks very much!

AJ

my deeper understanding and study has come about as a side effect of my card of the day I blog each morning. I so seldom see a card the way keyword readers do, and yet by the end of my post I can see it very clearly. (link is under my username)

Try writing about the Moon or 4 of swords 25 times..you will grow are a tarotist, but no telling where that growth will lead you.

I also have a private blog on the Thoth as a specific study. I spent three months last year highballing through the thoth, and now go back and add to each card when using a thoth or thothy deck. Amazing learning experience.

Zephyros