Help for old french card. Fish & Clog.

Bernice

I have found an old french card with the image of a fish and a clog (cabot/sabot?).

Is there any old french proverb or historical meaning for these two objects to be shown together?

Bee

Ross G Caldwell

Hi Bee,

Bernice said:
I have found an old french card with the image of a fish and a clog (cabot/sabot?).

Is there any old french proverb or historical meaning for these two objects to be shown together?

Bee

Is it possible to post an image of the card, or describe it more fully? It sounds interesting - I'm no expert in French folklore, but I'd like to find out.

Also the back of the card - is there anything on it, or any indication of where the card came from, what age it is, etc.?

Bernice

Hello Ross,

It's from an unknown incomplete (32) card deck - French.
I love the images and am creating a deck from it for myself.
It's card number 15, here at Trifoni.

http://trionfi.com/m/d0yyyy.php?decknr=0593

An excellent site, but unfortunatly the 'search' page has
recently stopped working so I can't search for other 32 card
decks to make any comparisons.

Bee :)

EDIT: The info. says the cardback is white.
Ladies dresses appear to be around the time of Napoleon with
a puffed cap to the sleeves and a high waist (empire line?).

Bernice

Further ideas...

Some possible meanings for this card could be;

1) Sabotage.
Possible conection to the event where clogs (sabots) were used to jam machinery. But unless the machinery was related to the fishing industry, this isn't feasible. Additionally, there are other ideas of how the word 'sabotage' came into being.

2) Word play or pun.
After translating the words "fish", "clog/shoe" and variations into French, I'm none the wiser. I'm not french.

3) A religious significance or meaning.
"Shoes of the Fisherman" ???

4) Could this be a fish that walks?
Perhaps 'fishy' conditions or situation, or a 'fishy/slippery' person - not to be fully trusted?

I'm running out of ideas....