A good book for beginners?

Marandana

Hello, I'm new and I'm wondering if some of you can recommend me a good tarot book for beginners? I don't know with which one I should start.

Theta Choir

If you are literally brand-spanking-new to Tarot, I really like "Tarot for Beginners: A Practical Guide to Reading the Cards" by Barbara Moore. It condenses each card down to a very basic core meaning that is simple to understand and easy to memorize.

Note that I'm not kidding when I say "condenses". Some might feel it condenses a bit *too* much, but for an absolute beginner, I think it's a helpful learning tool. After you memorize these core meanings you will then have to start looking to other resources to expand on these meanings.

If you already know the basic meanings of the cards, however, and you are looking for something to take things a step further, then I'd choose something else. :)

gregory

I agree with Theta.

And if you aren't QUITE that much of a beginner, Mary Greer's 21 Ways to Read a Tarot Card.

Theta Choir

And if you aren't QUITE that much of a beginner, Mary Greer's 21 Ways to Read a Tarot Card.

I *so* want that book. I actually just mentioned it to a friend of mine yesterday. It is at the top of my list for the next purchase I make. Curse you, empty wallet!

/shakes fist

Marandana

Thank you all, I'm not *so* a beginner, I have a little knowledge, however I still feel like I have a long way to go. I've been learning so far all by myself and I want something like, well explained but also not so difficult to understand.
I'll check out your suggestions of course. Thanks!

Wispy

I recently read "The New Tarot Handbook: Master the Meanings of the Cards" by Rachel Pollack and found it pretty good for looking at the imagery and meanings of the RWS tarot cards. The author focused too much on numerology, something I'm not into at this point.

I also enjoyed "Learning the Tarot" by Joan Bunning. I tended to jive more with her views.

agent199