New and need help!

Xiuhocelotl

Hey everyone...

Im new to the message board and to the Tarot. Can I ask some questions for you guys to answer? Hope so, i need some insight from learned tarot readers.

1. When making a deck, should i draw the cards, scan them on the computer and then print them on cardstock? Im new to this, and i want to make a deck based on Aztec codices, scince i really dont relate to the art of the raider-waite deck.

2. In drawing the cards, should I try to convey the same feeling I get from raider-waite cards? Ex. should the 9 of sword's convey worry/sadness?

3. Can some one who has printed a homemade tarot share the steps they took?

4. What kind of cardstock is good for a deck? Iv seen some cardstock at office depot. Is over the counter cardstock good?

Well, thats all i can think of, please help!!! I would appreciate it so much.

P.S. Is it weird for a guy to be interested in tarot? Also, I live in a catholic houshold and have to hide my tarot cards. Is this, in anyway, a tarot taboo?

GRACIAS!!!

HudsonGray

Hi & welcome to the deck creator's board. There's lots of guys posting on Aeclectic here, so you're not alone by any means! If I was living at home (I grew up Catholic) I'd have hid mine too to avoid hassles about them, but it's not necessary any more-for me at least.

Have you looked at the archived pages on this section? A lot of people have talked about what worked for them. I've got two threads about mine: One More Deck Hits The Table, and Chat du Marseille (I think they were called).

Make your deck the way you want to, in regards to the art & the card meaning focus. I'm not sure if the Aztecs used swords, so you may have to change some things--that'll be up to you.