10 years of Thoth Boycott and now ...

TheOld

yeah i don't know exactly why but after 10 years i finally came to like it ;-)

maybe it's the acceptance of my dark self that gave me the capacities to like this deck (i was finding thoth too much dark)!!!

Anyway now i like it verry much, i find it verry deep (did you know that there is 1200 symboles paint in the entire deck ?) and use it most of the times ;-)

so what's your storry with the Tarot of Thoth ?

Omeada

Cosmotaroist

Hello...

Im in the processing of "getting used to" the Thoth..and still trying...

I found the Rider Waite verision "easier" to work with...but the thoth's symolisms would, I think, gives me more information to work with in a reading.

I think Thoth, I'm not saying that it is dark, but it is darker than RW deck for me...overall... for example....i prefer the Aeon over the RW Judgement card....and I prefer the thoth devil over the RW's...but thats just me...

Im still learning the Thoth a bit day by day......thats my story

Tarotphelia

I liked it right off. I don't pay attention to Crowley and his ideas , I just see it as the work of Lady Harris. I didn't think it was any darker than any of the other common tarots.

MikeTheAltarboy

At first I was kinda afraid of it - and Crowley. ;-) It seemed dark to me too. I don't remember when I changed, but I did, and now it's my favorite. I don't see it as dark anymore, and I actually like Uncle Al quite a bit! :-D I just got my 2nd thoth - I had the large one, and now I got a tiny one.

Edge

Thoth is the only deck I use. This deck surpasses simple tarot card meanings and spreads, it has introduced me to Thelema and has challenged me to undertake the Great Work. Have never considered it "dark" or to advanced. However it's wisdom may only be understood by the adept. :)

Sophie