Digital Collage Technique

retrokat

I've been getting quite a few questions in other threads about the actual technique I used for http://goldentarot.com and it seems appropriate to start a specific thread covering the techie side of it. So, here's the thread for it...

retrokat

Graphics Software

I have had a small amount of professional training in Photoshop when studying Multimedia, but I'm mostly self-taught at "pixel-pushing".

I am predominantly a web developer and artist. I've been using computer-based graphics since the early 1990's (dPaint on an Amiga, for you other geeks out there). Until I got the contract with US Games, though, I had never worked commercially at print resolution - so to the people who ask if I'm a graphic designer, the answer is no!

If you have a good eye for detail and are reasonably confident with computers, anyone can use graphics software.
Experimentation and practice are the most important thing.

Photoshop has so many functions that it's difficult to know where to start, and beginners often get carried away with conspicuous gimmicky effects. That wears off pretty soon, luckily. Or alternatively, use less flashy software:

I currently use PaintShop Pro instead of Photohop. It's vastly cheaper to buy, less RAM-hungry, and has all of the functionality I need with a lot less bloating & wizz-bangery. You can even try it out for free for 30 days: http://jasc.com - that should be long enough to get you hooked :)

There's some technical advice for graphics-software beginners linked from my site http://retrokat.com in the "web rescue" section.

retrokat

Layering

The main key to digital collage is layering.

Each element of the collage can be placed on a separate layer so you can manipulate each item independantly. eg, move it around, make it bigger, tilt it, make it more yellow, darker, whatever. This allows you to make elements from different sources "match" much more easily than is possible with traditional paper & glue techniques.