Queen, King, Ace...? What's the difference?

frances&pam

Hi, I'm new to reading cards, and just don't understand the court cards. That is, I don't understand the difference between the ranks in each suit, or for that matter between a court card and the ace of that suit. For example, I understand "wand" energy/characteristics, but in a spread what's the difference between the Page of Wands and the Queen (or the Ace)? How are their manifestations in everyday life different from each other?

I get that rank can indicate the age of a particular person related to the reading, but what about court cards beyond their literal reference to a specific individual? (I hope this makes sense.)

So, does anyone have any tips for discerning meaning based on rank within a suit?

Thanks!
-Sarah

Thirteen

frances&pam said:
Hi, I'm new to reading cards, and just don't understand the court cards. That is, I don't understand the difference between the ranks in each suit, or for that matter between a court card and the ace of that suit. For example, I understand "wand" energy/characteristics, but in a spread what's the difference between the Page of Wands and the Queen (or the Ace)? How are their manifestations in everyday life different from each other?
Court cards are never easy for newbies--or even for us oldies. Court cards are always among the hardest to interpet. So don't feel too frustrated if they're giving you trouble.

Think of them this way:
King (or Knight): The spark, the father, the instagator, the sperm, the fire--this is the idea that motivates everyone to do something. If a Wand, it might be a philosophy or religion or political idea that excites or interests everyone. Did anyone ever express to you an idea that just inspired you?