Watch Mercury transit the Sun!

seaweed

I know it might be getting late for some, but has anybody had the chance to see Mercury transiting the Sun today? The local astronomy club down the block from me has up about 6 amature + 1 pro telescope--such a beautiful sight to see! Esp. through the Celestron CSC 'scope--amazing resolution!

But as people with our toes in astrology, it's neat to see the celestial events play out in real time. For anyone who can't get out today/tonight to see the transit, here's the link from the telescopes in Hawaii--multiple views (compliments of Sky and Telescope): http://astroday.net/MercTransit06.html

Oh, it's due to start showing around 9:12 HST, which seems to be about 7 hours different from MST, or about 9 hours different from EST. So, I'm not a rocket scientist, but here's approx. viewing times : )

EST--2:12 am
CST--1:12 am
MST--12:12 am
PCS--11:12 am

PixieLi

thanks for the link seaweed...how very interesting

I'm in Sydney and it's been cloudy and overcast for days

B*B
Pix:)

seaweed

Anytime, PixiLi...(you should've seen me trying to figure out the time difference for Sydney : ) I looked a bit like a dog trying to figure out Trigonometry LOL!

Sweet Irish Angel

Ta Very much

Im in Ireland so a few hours to wait, if I can stay up long enough I will have a wee look, will be like a walking zombie in work tomorrow haha :laugh:
very interesting, :) thanx a mill for the link

seaweed

So in about 6 hours...I'm guessing...it'll be about 5:12 pm in Sydney and about 6:12 am in Dublin?

: )...am I even close?

Sweet Irish Angel

Hey

hehe well its 1.08 am here in ireland so it will be 7.08 in 6hrs time, time to get up for work then hehe :) so yes you were very close hehe ;)

YDM42

.....2006 Transit of Mercury from the U.S.. Depending on the time zone, the transit begins at: 2:12 pm EST

Sweet Irish Angel

Hey

so thats tomorrow afternoon so? when will it be visable?? :confused: hehe

YDM42