Unhappy horse?

EvaSegovia

As some of you have already learned, I'm really studying the imagery portrayed in the RWS using the oversized deck. So: The horse in the Sun card looks rather worried. Definitely not happy. Is anyone else picking up on this? And if so, any ideas how to interpret?

ana luisa

That's a FAB observation ! Thank you for bringing it up :) Indeed, the horse looks upset or even sad in some renditions. It could mean so many things... This is one of them. Although both can represent freedom and vigor, the horse knows that the child is not really prepared to take to the world. That you need some experience to go out and enjoy things so they can last. That animals, from the very young age fend for themselves. A foal walks minutes after it's born... But not a boy. Optimism alone and positive feelings are not enough. A sobering message.

ScorpioRegen

What a great topic! in the equine world of horse body language the posture of the horses head can mean hes annoyed, or stressed. Wether this had any influence on Pamela Colman Smith at the time I have no idea. It looks to me like the prospect of the horse training this child is not appealing to the horse at all, or the fact the child is immature and doesnt know how to ride 'life' is annoying for the horse. I like ana luisa take on this :)

EvaSegovia

The reason I've been closely studying the images is because of Pamela Coleman Smith's admonition to look at the faces. She was a very good illustrator, so I don't think anything in the images is "by chance" I'm glad I'm not the only one who's noticed this. I like both of your' takes on this. It's never occurred to me to look at the Sun card as having a sobering message... But there you have it....

EvaSegovia