Connecting to Thoth deck

vinLove

Hi All

I am a newbie in Tarot reading. Recently I have got hold of a few decks including a cheap small Thoth deck.

I also have a few different RWS type decks too, and am studying them trying to get to know the each card meanings. With RWS, it seem easier and more natural to be able to connect to the cards due to clear vibrant images on the cards and traditional meanings.

However, when I open the Thoth deck, and looking into all the images in the Thoth cards, I find a bit lost in coming up with assured connection. I mean when I see Lover card in RWS, I can tell roughly what the card is about - lovers, couples, partners, and when I read the traditional meaning about the card, it clicks on me well i.e. union, sharing, trust ... etc due to relevant image in the card.

When I see Lovers card in Thoth deck, the image somehow does not strike me with these ideas. Not even lovers or anything to do with love.

Is this expected experience because I am a newbie? Or is there other ways to connect to Thoth cards?

seven stars

I started out using the Thoth deck just because it was used by my friend who introduced me to Tarot. It was my only deck for MANY years, & I never memorized all the cards. Had to look them up for every reading - & I did a LOT of readings. Even after I started doing street readings I used that deck & even made my own book just so I would have the definitions I liked at easy quick access. I read reversals & I thought I must just be one of those people who can't memorize that many cards.

When I moved to Rider Waite finally, which was the Deck of the Bastard that I made, all of a sudden everything started clicking & I found I never used my book anymore. I didn't need to - the images triggered all the memories of what I had read for years in those cards. Not so with the Crowley deck, unfortunately.

I'll never use the Crowley deck again.

ravenest

Hi All