knowing the symbols before reading thoth deck

silverstep

Im a beginner in tarot and am working with the major arcana one at a time. Im finding that its hard to work with this deck until I look at books or other peoples interpretations of all the objects and gods portrayed in the cards. My interpretations are pretty scant until i do this. For example in the Magus card I would never know that the monkey represents the god of writing or the egg with wings represents Esp and intuitiveness. Does any one else feel like this, any strategies? Have you meditated for a few days and thought about the symbols before turning to books?

ravenest

Although I think it is a good idea to study the symbolism and reference books and find out all the things the symbols could mean, I woudn't reccomend that this stops you from plunging in to practcal experience and working.

Both go hand in hand, and frankly, there is so much in the deck, the symbols and the esoteric knowledge contained within that one could spend a life-time studing the cards without actually ever using them.

The learning expereince will continue for many, many years, so don't try to rush and understand everything from the begining, it will come.

At least you wont get bored with this deck.

HudsonGray

Wait till you get to the Spermit card.

ravenest

You are going to have to elaborate on that H.G.!

Abrac