Animal/Nature Tarot

hereeternally

[The Animism Tarot] Animal/Nature Tarot

Hi everyone,

I'm still really new to tarot cards. While I got my first deck around a year ago, I haven't been really able to dedicate myself to really learning the cards and developing my relationship with them. But tarot artwork has always intrigued me so early in the summer of this year, I really wanted to try my hand at creating some tarot card art.

More recently, my art has been greatly influenced by animals so I decided to bring that influence into my cards. I created my first tarot card - The Hanged Man, and have (really REALLY) slowly been creating new cards, which has been quite the challenge, especially for a beginner! Planning each card has been such an involving process from learning more about the cards, choosing the 'right' animal to the layout of the card, the details, etc, etc. It's definitely been fun though and I've had some nice feedback so far.. even a few inquiries for the full deck, but I have this feeling that it may take months and months to years and years to actually finish this deck! I have, er, 7 cards painted right now?? But it's nice to have a goal at least.

I'm still slowly working on them. Today I'm starting a new card and had it all planned out.. except now I may end up changing it entirely because it just doesn't feel quite right. I definitely think the hardest part is getting started and finalizing an idea before even pulling out that paintbrush.

Still, being very very new to tarot, I wonder what I could accomplish when I become a little more experienced with the imagery and meanings.. I feel like I could probably develop the completed illustrations more, but I guess that can be a new goal in the years to come.. and probably in a whole new deck (eek.) For now this deck is my way of learning.

Anyway, I have my completed tarot card art on deviantart at http://sobeyondthis.deviantart.com/gallery/32847081