The lotus imagery

rainwolf

I see the lutus coming into the cards many times and I wonder what this might symbolize. I recently started studying the Thoth so this is a fairly new symbol to me. I read in a previous post that it might be synonymous with the cups (thanks to similia) and thats a good start to something I think can be delved into deeply.

I ask this because my daily card today was the 6 of cups and I wonder what the lotus's are doing, and what they are filling the cups with (OK, thats a little more obvious in tarot terms).

Aeon418

Within the context of Tarot the Lotus is the eastern symbol of the receptive, feminine powers. In the west the Rose is used to symbolise the feminine.
There's also the link with the Chakra's. The receptive energy centre's within the body which are usually described as various Lotuses.

Scion

The Lotus is also an ancient symbol of the soul and rebirth, especially in Egypt and India. Since the Lotus rises and falls each day with the sun, it mirrors the regenerative life cycle. In rising above the waters it creates itself anew, only to sink beneath the surface again.

Giant lotuses figure in creation myths for both regions. It also appears as an ornament in ornamentation, religious and secular, throughout Asia and Asia Minor. The multipetalled structure also speaks to its complexity and multifaceted beauty.

There's a terrific essay about its ubiquity here: http://www.theosociety.org/pasadena/sunrise/49-99-0/ge-mrook.htm

And from Helena Blavatsky's Secret Doctrine: