Anyone else read only for themselves?

echo

It seems that many people here at AT do readings for others, whether professionally, or for friends/family. I'm still fairly new to tarot, and only do readings for myself. In fact, the thing that drew me to tarot was its use as a tool for introspection and personal reflection, and at this stage in my learning, I really can't even imagine doing readings for anyone else, because my relationship with my deck is so personal.

Just wondering if there are others out there who only do readings for themselves.

cardlady22

I'm one! Although it isn't because of a relationship with a deck. I'm kind of tied up with the responsibility thing. I've seen so much in life where vulnerabilities were manipulated or exploited that I would always be afraid of making things worse for the person that asked. I have pulled a few cards or runes for people online, but I leave the interpretation or message-taking up to them.

Maybe it's the Gemini, but even my answers get phrased as questions . . .
:grin:

olivia1

I used to read for as many people as I can but ever since starting the Intensive Deck Study program, I pretty much read only for myself. I stopped reading for others (outside of reading circles) because when I read for others I feel like I am on a time limit. When I read for myself, I feel as if I can take all the time I want studying each card in depth and I get to tie each card to my personal life experiences or to actual people I know--it really makes the cards come alive. And it makes studying tarot more personal and fun. When I read for others, I cant really do all that.

Prism