Doing readings for friends of friends.

feminine_mystique

Hi everyone. Lately I have been getting emails from friends of friends in regards to my tarot readings. Now I haven't been charging since I only really do it for fun however some of these people I feel are just taking advantage of the fact that I am doing this for free. Examples would be I do one reading.. don't hear back from them then the next week they will want another reading and another etc.. they don't offer to pay but it does take a lof of my free time to do their readings for nothing in exchange.

I still don't feel comfortable charging them since, again, I am still learning myself but not sure what I can do to stop these "querents" who are somehow, I feel abusing their power that I am doing this for nothing.

rwcarter

People can only take advantage of you if you let them. Before you do the next reading for any of them, explain what you need back from them and tell them if you don't get it, you won't read for them again. And then stick to that. When the first person doesn't believe you and you refuse to read for that person again, the others will get the message.

Tanga

As Rodney said - put your foot down! Lol.
Why are you letting them use you? (fear of rejection? - well if they're really your friends - they wouldn't be using you).

And generally repeatedly doing a reading every week for the same person, is not an advisable practice.
Usually you tell them to say - "come back in 3 months" when life has had a chance to unfold and they've had time to do their own work on any issues that came up in the reading.

Le Fanu

Usually you tell them to say - "come back in 3 months" when life has had a chance to unfold and they've had time to do their own work on any issues that came up in the reading.
But they'll be wanting readings on other issues, have other questions. That's usually the case.