Rider-Waite Symbolism

SilverWolf

Ok, I'm studying the Rider-Waite Tarot, and I'm reading The Pictorial Key to the Tarot by AE Waite. However, something is bothering me, he uses a good deal of Christian terminology. Would it be wrong of me to substitute some of hte terminology that he uses when talking about the symbology of the tarot cards with terminology that I'm more comfortable with, ie the gods, instead of God.

Shaymus

Yes, by all means.

Also, there are many other books using the RWS and its symbology. I found that the A. Waite's book (Pictorial Key) was less than helpful, when compared to other books out there.

Have fun, and it is an amazing journey.

Shaymus

Abrac

I don't think it would be wrong necessarily, but speaking for myself I prefer to know and understand where an author is coming from whether or not I agree, but that's just me. If you are uncomfortable with Waite's perspective, just put the book away and use the deck intuitively. :)

Grizabella

Although some of our members frown on books, I strongly recommend 21 Ways to Read a Tarot Card by Mary Greer and Tarot Wisdom by Rachel Pollack. Both will help you to find your own meanings to cards. Especially Mary Greer's book, but Tarot Wisdom is very good, too. I also strongly recommend The 2 Hour Tarot Tutor. I think it's still in print, but if not, I've seen several from used vendors on Amazon, some at a penny which means, with shipping, you'll only be paying $4.

The crowned one

The "Pictorial Key" is a strange piece of writing. Part ego, idea's, teaching, and hints. I used Alfred Douglas's "the tarot" and Paul Foster Case's book"The Tarot: A Key to the Wisdom of the Ages" for most of my early self teaching of the Waite/Smith deck. I feel they were real helpful at the time.

Jyscal