Reversals in the ancient italian tarot.

tzpet

I've been using my new Ancien italian tarot for a couple of months and I've noticed something really strange. The back of the cards is perfect for reversals. You can also tell if the pip cards are upside down except for the suit of wands (and strangely the 2 of pentacles). These are the only cards which i can't tell if they're reversed. What do you think about it is the deck not meant for reversals or the Wands don't matter? Should I remember the exact pips sa they camein the box? What do you think?

Picture of the mentioned cards: http://imgur.com/BjvYxr4

Laura Borealis

This is one of my favorite decks, even though I still have trouble reading with pips! It's so beautiful though, so I keep using it. :heart:

I don't use reversals with it, but I don't with any decks, so it's not an issue for me. If I were going to though, I would probably make a tiny mark at one end of each symmetrical card. The two of coins isn't quite symmetrical, though there's no clear indication which is upright. The way you oriented it in your photo looks upright to me so I'd go with that.

That's my take on it, hope it helps.

bonebeach

This is my friendly default every day beater deck! I love it.

My answer is to not worry about it? Hahah. Um. That might not reassure you, but nonetheless. I often read reversals, unless I don't, and so for the wands I just never consider those reversed. Because it's an old deck (1880!) I sometimes justify not doing reversals at all because reversals weren't really a huge deal until Waite in 1910.

Metafizzypop

I don't have this particular deck, though I do own other historicals. And I don't read reversals with the pip cards.

Hell, I'm lucky if I can read those things right side up, let alone upside down.

Laura Borealis