Varying the Card Stock

Cedar Wolf

So, I'm working on my deck, the Primal Tarot. One of the biggest sticking points has been the material it will be printed on. I'm neither a tarot collector (so I have no experiential understanding of the different kinds of stock, what holds up best, what people prefer, etc.) nor a trained designer (so I have no experience in translating what I envision into what printers can understand, and what is even possible).

That said, I tend to know what I like. And what I generally don't like is the kinds of cards stock most decks are printed on. They all, to some extent, just feel like plastic to me. Coatings, laminates, paper manufactured within an inch of its life to make it seem like plastic. I bought a copy of the Wild Unknown, just because everyone was raving about the stock. I got it, and I can see that it has a kind of tactile appeal, but it also feels like plastic to me.

I hate plastic. After receiving samples from Quality Playing Cards and bothering printers about what they would usually print cards on (plastic-y, all of it), I started thinking about alternatives. I looked at paper, and thought about what I'd like to feel.

The experiment I'm working with now is a textured paper that is somewhat similar to handmade paper (a "laid" finish, if anyone knows what I'm talking about). For me, it evokes cards that would have been used five hundred years ago, which is all pluses as far as I'm concerned. But laid paper, especially in heavier weights, is ridged. It means that the cards don't slide against one another like people are used to. It's not that you can't work with them; I cut out a few sample decks and I've been just shuffling them. You get the trick after a few shuffles. It's pretty easy to figure it out.