Advice for a beginner?

Aure

As you may have read on my thread on 'New Members' and on the thread here on Internet resources, I'm a novice on Thoth Tarot. I've had the deck (two actually) for a couple of years and have done occasional readings for myself. Now I have been more active with the cards and would like to know where to start in learning how to use them?

I have Ziegler's book and some info I printed from the net but I'm not sure whether to study the meanings in them carefully or to just 'play' with them and maybe look up the meaning from manuals if necessary.

I don't know anybody back here who would have a study group so you guys are really my only source of information on the subject.

jog1118

have a look at the "Using Tarot Cards" forum and check out the sticky "Forum Table of Contents-How to Read"...the topics here are applicable to any deck, IMO...

:smoker:

edited to correct sticky name

Simone

Hi there, and welcome!

I'm using Ziegler's books too for occasional reference. IMO he has quite an intreresting way of approaching and interpreting the Thoth deck.

What I did to get into the deck was just starting readings (for myself in the beginning) and looking up the meanings. So after a while, I got to know every card and its "meanings by the book", and then intuition began to whisper ;)

Light and love and enjoy your deck!
Simone

Thea Lynx

Hi Aure,

By far, I prefer Ziegler's Mirror of the Soul when I need to refer to the text. It was especially helpful when I first worked with my Thoth deck. The affirmations and meditations helped me to remember and understanding the meanings of each card and its interplay with the others.