so what does it take??

Ravenswing

evening everyone--

I've been working on an English-based gematria system for about 30 years now. It's expanding out to a kabalah using the lurian tree and a tarot that describes it. there's a new slant on astrology-- I've spun the wheel around to account for the move from fishes to man.

as the Golden Dawn uses the RosyCross to draw up sigils, I have what I call the alphabet flower...

anyhow, it seems that I'm slowly building towards a majickal system. so I'd like to ask everyone this:

what do you consider necessary to a system of majick?

fly well
raven

Astra

I felt as though I had to reply to this one, although the reply may be at cross purposes to the question.

I don't consider anything necessary to a system of magic, or magick. In general, I have found that working within a system tends to add a greater burden to actually accomplishing anything.

That said, I think that any well-reasoned attempt at cross-connecting the various traditions and symbologies is likely to be worthwhile in itself, simply because it can offer new perspectives, new connections, new starting points for thinking about the possibilities.

So, even though there will never be an end to what you can add, stop when it feels as though it's "enough", and let us see what you've got.

Kiama

My fiancé is more into systems of magic than I am, so I asked him what he felt necessary for one.

He said:

"Results"
"A system of verification".

The last is a very good point I think: a friend of mine who has been practising Thelema for 15+ years states that one of the most important things for successful magic of this kind is that you can verify it to make sure you're doing it right.