The Marseilles 3 of Swords.. is it heartbreak or what?

seaglass

Hello, this is my first time posting on the Marseilles forum.

In the RWS deck (and most derivatives of that), the 3 of Swords is very simply heartbreak and separation.

But I don't get that impression from the Marseilles deck at all. I've read Jodorowsky's book on the deck, and he says the 3 of Swords is an expression of ideas.

I'm just wondering what some of your takes on it might be - especially as it relates to the Empress and her connotations of creativity, expression, love.

Thank you!

dancing_moon

I usually don't see 3 of Swords as 'heartbreak' either. As it's connected to the Empress, it can mean, to me, conceiving a new idea, finding a consensus, a mental breakthrough. As is the case with all 3s, I sometimes see it as 3 people involved, but it's usually more in terms of intellectual cooperation/idea pooling.

3ill.yazi

Still pretty new, but from my studies so far i would peg it as the breakthrough of a new idea or conflict which has been brewing.

Miss Woo

Still pretty new, but from my studies so far i would peg it as the breakthrough of a new idea or conflict which has been brewing.

This is my take on it too.

In my Ben-Dov book it's called "Victory" and it's about overcoming something and moving forward. It can also involve a third party like Dancing Moon said.

kwaw

Depends upon the question - in context of questions re: love & relationships then I would generally read swords as unfavourable - and three could represent involvement of a third party - so heartbreak and separation could be a reading in context of such a question - but in a different context, something completely different.

seaglass

Think I am inclined to view it as conflict and resolution as well.

I'll have to check out that Ben-Dov book.