Dealing with a stellium in the sixth house

fairylights

I'm an astrology newb ... and it's actually really hard to get myself to believe it sometimes ... but every now and then, I see traits and events in people and their lives that correspond so uncannily with their natal charts that I don't know what to think.

Like my significant other, for example. Throughout his teen and adult years, he's struggled with finding a direction in professional life, and given that he bases his self-worth almost completely on what he does academically and professionally, he feels inadequate, in fact useless. I want to emphasize that this is an absolute gem of a human being who just struggles to know what he wants and what he's good at and has been beaten down by poverty, depression and a toxic home environment all his life.

He has Mercury conjunct Uranus and Neptune and Sun conjunct Saturn all in the sixth house. From what I've been reading online, those planets and combinations in the sixth house are all supposed to test you through failure ... and I really think the stars have overdone it in his case.

So I guess my question is how one can mitigate and transcend powerful negative influences and find some measure of peace, understanding and contentment. I know astrology doesn't determine everything in a person's life, but if there are things that an individual can address in order to improve their lives or protect themselves from harm, what would they be?

I hope posting this here is okay. I'm not asking for a reading (and in any case, would have nothing to give in return unfortunately), just looking for some perspective from kind souls who know more than me. Would really truly appreciate it. Also, if you need any additional information, I'd be happy to share. I love this guy, if there's any way he can get over his funk by tweaking things here and there, I have to tell him.

frac_ture