Seven Stations Tarot

dangerdork

Eight years ago, I discovered an interesting perspective for meditating on the historical, psychological, and symbolic progression through the Major Arcana. Some of you may be familiar with my blatherings on the subject as outlined on the "Epiphany!" thread in "Using Tarot Cards" here on AT.

http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=84592

After exhaustive discussion, a number of people told me that I should write a book on the topic. Since I am a "Creative Type" in the field of digital media, I decided that an app would be a much better medium for teaching this concept than a stack of dead trees.

As I began planning the app, I realized that this would be the perfect opportunity to realize a lifelong dream of creating a tarot deck, which could serve as an illustration for the Seven Stations perspective.

Although I'm an artist myself, I work at a painfully slow pace, and it looked like I would never get around to creating all 22 images necessary for the project. Then, I noticed that a friend of mine was maturing rapidly as an artist, and I felt that her style might lend itself well to what I was trying to do. I had worked with her on design projects in the past, and knew she was a very productive artist and rapid learner.

In 2012, I commissioned Rena Hopkins (known to her growing online following as "The Divine Iguana") to work on the Seven Stations tarot - with myself acting as art director and author, and her as the illustrator. I thought her very first completed card, "The Star" (see attachment) was the best work she'd ever done, and over the 3 years since, she has steadily improved.