The Chariot and Cancer (zodiac)

Ace of Stars

In the Golden Dawn system of correspondences, The Chariot is linked to the zodiac sign, Cancer. I find this strange and hard to understand -- it's certainly not the card I'd think of when thinking of Cancer.

What do you think? Does it make sense to you?

Brown Eyed Mystic

In the Golden Dawn system of correspondences, The Chariot is linked to the zodiac sign, Cancer. I find this strange and hard to understand -- it's certainly not the card I'd think of when thinking of Cancer.

What do you think? Does it make sense to you?

I think it does, in one way. I feel Cancer signs, like a crab, don't move in a straight line but sideways or are tilted in their gait. They have difficulty in making decisions. They don't make decisions immediately but weigh possibilities and can take forever.

The Chariot also seems like he's trying to balance two sides, as if he's weighing and controlling things.

Then again, I'm very new to this, so just sharing my first thoughts with you :)

BEM

Barleywine

The chariot in the image is like a "portable fortress" similar to a crab's carapace. The idea that the chariot resembles a "movable fence" supports the association of the card with the Hebrew letter Cheth, which Paul Foster Case says "corresponds to the ideas represented by the words carapace and shell. It symbolizes "defense in motion" (or "the best defense is a good offense") as well and therefore hard to overcome. This supports the traditional idea of "conquest."

Zephyros

Yes, it does make sense, if you go according to the system. It may not make intuitive sense, but it does fit in the overall scheme. This doesn't mean that the Chariot embodies the personality traits we would read in a horoscope about Cancer, it is rather quite a bit more involved.

But, rather than tell you why I do think it makes sense, I'm curious as to why you think it doesn't.

Ace of Stars