Is using Clow Cards like Tarot possible?

Sakuryuu

(The Clow Cards from CardCaptor Sakura).

I was just wondering if I could use mine like people use Tarot cards. By the way, I don't just mean like replacing ex. firey with the ace of cups... Like, in the thord manga, Sakura (the main character) uses them to figure out a troubling thought, and the Sword represented a challenge, the Windy, news, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot! ^^

psychicbody

You can use almost asny cards you want, for divination, as long as you understand the system of how they might work.

Chronata

Oh Yes! I have had very good experience using these cards!

Usually without any sort of books or guides...and just using the image and title to inspire meaning.

Although Cerulean found me a great site that had a list of possibly divinatory meanings.

I have no experience with the anime that the cards are based on...but that hasn't stopped me from getting really good results.

MareSaturni

You can use them as a DIVINATION TOOL, but not TAROT. Note the difference...they are totally different systems. I've heard there's a book with the Clow Cards meaning, but i guess it's in japanese.

:TPW Yuko

Remaniox

I agree. They can be used but as a different tool. btw where do you get them any way

blue_fusion

i guess you can, in the same manner that tarot is also a form of divination. there's actually a thread here somewhere about people doing just that, sharing their experiences reading with the clow cards.

just a thought, maybe it would spicen the readings if you also incorporate the individual "personalities" of each card as it was shown in the series (like how the wood card didn't start out as "stable" and tore through her house, or how the light and dark cards are "sister" cards). :)

L'Etoile

I had a friend who did so.

Just make up better meanings for the cards than she did (ie: the literal meaning of the card's title)

Cerulean