question for deck designers only

Mallah

Do you end up USING your deck?

I'm a deck designer, and have been posting here on the process of my deck for two years. What I'm learning is very interesting.

I had to make certain design choices, and choices about what system of minors I'd use, and whether or not to include astrological symbols etc etc....

Well, because the project is so strung out, I don't know, maybe it's my inner critic...I can't imagine ever reading with my own deck....which is one of the reasons i started designing it in the first place: "Wow...how awesome will it be to actually read with a deck of my own design?? I'll have such an affinity for the cards..."....yeah...NOT....

I mean, potentially...but the inner critic will always be there..."ya know, ya shoulda used a little more magenta there..."

I guess i won't know till I actually try it.

I created a deck 20 years ago, and didn't like using it.

I'm not sure if it's because of my own harsh criticism, or if it's because my reading style has moved on from what I'm doing in the deck! And it has moved on. Which has made it very difficult to continue with the deck...I"m only TEN CARDS away from being done...that's right....and I second guess myself every few cards...thinking about going back and re-doing the entire minor arcana, because I don't like some of the choices I made for it oh-so-long (seemingly) ago. And yet, the art is pleasant...I'm mostly satisfied with it...it's just not where I am right now....

So I'm wondering...when you have finished a deck...or two, or three...DO YOU END UP USING IT, or are you too close to it?

tarotbear

We are all our own worst critic.

I do read my own books - but they are informational, so sometimes I go back and check things. Sometimes I think now that I've written it all down for the record that my memory circuits no longer 'store' it.

Would I use my Men's deck (provided it gets published)? Probably only if I was reading for men.

dancing_moon