Wildwood - 5 of Vessels * Ecstasy

flipperjane

This card has an image of a girl dancing ecstatically under the starry night sky. She is dancing in a pentacle which has five vessels containing a candle each, one at each point.
It is so different to how I've always thought of the 5 of Cups.
I'd love to know how others view this card and how they interpret it.

Ziev

Im new to studying this deck but really LOVE it. The images speak to me deep inside.

In this card I think as the five vessels lightening up on their own from the joy of the dancer who looks like she is also in a trance. She is wearing a necklace of teeth and is holding two staffs. One is a thyrsus which Dionysus is known for carrying along with his followers. A thyrsus is a fennel staff, tipped with a pine-cone. Some used this staff for fertility rituals like dancing. This is a symbol of prosperity and fertility, pleasure and enjoyment. The other is a leather headed rattle which was also used in ceremonies and is said to bring a better spiritual connection to the creator.

Unlike most 5 of vessels/cups this card really appeals to me. I think she is happy for what life has brought to her. Even though she is only half way through her journey she is giving thanks for the abundance in her life and asking for it to continue. While she knows the future is uncertain she is secure that it will be how it is meant to be and wants to continue to give thanks to spirit for all prosperity that will continue to come. She looks so happy that I want to go and dance with her...lol. Pure ecstasy.

This is just my take on it. Comments are welcome and I would like to hear what others think.

flipperjane

What is the signifigance of her dancing in the pentacle I wonder?