ANCIENT EGYPTIAN STUDY GROUP-II The High Priestess

Sophie

Started by Helvetica

Sophie

This has taken so long - I didn't really have a handle on this lady! And still don't but I shall try and give my impressions.

First off, when I saw the image Moongold had posted, I was baffled because she seems totally expressionless, and I couldn't understand her. When I received the deck a couple of weeks ago (love it!), I studied her in my hand: I thought I would see more. But she remained hermetic. Well - she is the High Priestess. I read a lot about Isis. Then I read the book that came with the deck and it wasn't quite what I had read in my mythology books, so we have have different sources, Clive Barrett and I. I was especially annoyed that he'd given Hathor, the Empress, some of Isis' legends! ;) (of course Isis and Hathor are the same goddess, or at least became so in time). But the lady on the card still remained silent.

I wrote nothing because I had nothing to write.

Then I did a 6-card reading for myself. I don't know why it was six cards - it was random, I stopped when the circle felt complete and assigned no "positions". In this reading, the High Priestess, Isis, came up next to Hathor, the Empress. And exactly below them - the Moon and the Sun.

And it clicked! Or at least, something did...

Isis is a sorceress, a powerful magician, a knower. She extracted Rê's real name from him with a magic ruse, which made her the most powerful goddess. But she ain't telling. She is also the sister, lover, wife of Osiris. When he was killed by their jealous brother Seth, she kept his body in a sarcophagus, but Seth found it and tore Osiris to pieces and scattered him along the Nile. So she searched the long river, brought together the pieces of her love and hid in the Delta reeds with him, and wept and sang him back to life. Here is some of her magic song, translated from the hieroglyphs (not by me!):

"I desire to see thee again,
I am thy sister Isis, whom thy heart loved,