Cards meaning and intuition

Mim

Hi !
I'm brand new to Lenormand and I wonder how exclusive are the meanings of the cards written in the booklet (Under The Roses).

I wonder how far my feelings and intuition can interfere with the cards and how far I'm bound to fit perfectly to the already established meanings.

Are some experienced users aware of that ? Have you been able to enlarge your vision of the meaning of each card or is it the straight scoolish way "The clover means this and only this and nevermind anything else" ?

Thank you all :)

Barleywine

This is one of the best questions to ask, because there is a strong tendency to import tarot methodology into the practice of Lenormand. I've found that the Lenormand cards are much more literal in their meaning, and shouldn't be stretched too far in their interpretation. The vision, creativity and imagination come into it through combining and synthesizing the card meanings in different ways. I generally stick with a central meaning for each card and a couple of alternates; a good example is the Cross, which usually means a hardship or fated burden, but can sometimes stand for religion (unless, of course, you're like a guy who used to live in our area who would dress in a toga every Easter Sunday and drag a large wooden cross up a hill on a busy State highway; he managed to neatly combine both meanings. True story! :))

I apply selective intuition (is that an oxymoron?) when I decide the significance of the various ways in which a "focus" card (such as the Man or the Woman) can be mated with other cards to gain additional insight. But my "bedrock" is always the core meaning for each of the cards that I've chosen for myself. But then, I'm a Lenormand semi-traditionalist who takes a narrow view of many "New Age-y" innovations, despite - or maybe because of - the fact that I lived through their very beginnings.

Village Witch

I can't say it any better than Barleywine did!