Golden Tarot of the Renaissance/Estensi

myrrhmyrrh

Does anyone read with this deck?

I'm not an old tarot hand tho not an absolute noob and I love this deck, am even quite attached to it, but I am a bit at sea as to how to interpret it. Its images rarely, if ever, match up with the RWS system or even suit/number systems that I can make out. I don't want to give this deck up for a pretty on my shelves, I want to keep using it. I've had some good results with it in which I kind of go free-form with some RWS thrown in for good measure.

What do you do? Free form? Old School traditional Italian fortune telling? another system?

I think I'm going to face this problem a lot because the decks I'm drawn to are the pre-Golden Dawn, Minchiate, Sola Busca, etc. so I could use some advice.

ps If I don't answer immediately it's that I'm not getting my notifications

Barleywine

If this is the one I'm thinking of, I have it on my wish-list but the consensus here is that the 2 of Wands "castrated man" card is a deal-breaker for many, and the 8 of Swords "execution" card isn't far behind. I'll be interested to see what current opinion is among those who own and use it.

To answer your question, I don't read with my historical decks much (other than the TdM), but I'm buying the Mystical Tarot, which looks kike a re-imagining of the Sola Busca in a livelier style, with less of the "fly-in-amber" quality that some "art" decks convey. That may change my mind.

myrrhmyrrh

yes, that's the one... I don't mind the strong images, even for negative, if I were more confident and I've lost the LWB- which I've heard is not very helpful anyway.

I'll take a peek at the Mystical Tarot, now I'm curious

myrrhmyrrh

The Mystical is lovely, Barleywine and might be a nice compromise for someone in love with the old Italian decks but needful of the supporting system of RWS.

Spiffo

The 9 of Swords always gives me pause for thought.
And that Fool could do with some manscaping.