How do you choose a deck?

Siavahda

I'm new to tarot, and have gone on a bit of a spree and bought half a dozen beautiful decks. But I'm curious as to how more experienced tarot users pick their decks. I've been choosing based on the artwork and that ephemeral 'click!' feeling when you find something that meshes with you.

How is it for everyone else?

Obsydian

I have to love the artwork first and foremost! Then I look online at review videos or images to see if these card pictures are actually readable for me.

However if said deck is a cat deck, I'll probably get it anyways.

Edit to add that sometimes I'll sit on the deck for a month or more while using the Fool's Dog app version to get a feel for it.

Metafizzypop

I don't choose the deck.

It chooses me.

:)

decan

I am not sure there is only one way to choose a deck.

Well, I think that it's generally something a bit difficult, and some researchs are needed ; generally we choose a deck and think: Oh this one is the good one!! :love:
Yes, but after a while maybe the relationship with this deck will change a bit and will be less strong.

Or you receive the Deck you have chosen and you are disappointed! Too bad :( , but it's happen unfortunately.
Or else, you could have a strong feeling with a deck while at first you said: "Oh no, I dislike this deck" :)

I will say it's a process; probably you will try one or two decks (and maybe more!) before you will find your deck!
And a divorce is always possible of course! :)

Cocobird55

I get my first impression from the art. If it is appealing, I look for reviews and iTunes reviews. Check out the website to see if I like all the cards.

If all of these things are good, I may wait for a while to buy the deck, to see other people's opinions.

After all of this, if I want it, I buy it. Once in a while I make a mistake, but I'm usually pretty happy with all my decks.

Nemia