Help wanted!

Ross G Caldwell

Hi Cheva,

Hi out there,i am a guy who have an old Petit Lenormand card deck in my possesion.

But in this field or sience i have no skills,so i vounder if somebody could try to help me

to determend age, country, manufacturer,type of deck mm mm if it´s possible.

My own guess is the age is around1840-1870 and country France or Germany?

Have lot of pictures,but don´t know how to post them in this forum.

Whit regards from Håkan Sweden.

My E-mail is cheva69@msn.com

I'm no expert in these kinds of cards, so I can only offer some suggestions.

According to A Wicked Pack of Cards (R. Decker, T. Depaulis and M. Dummett, 1996), p. 141, -

"More recent packs appeared in about 1850 under the name of 'Petit Lenormand'. Their composition of 36 cards points to Germanic countries rather than to France, where such a composition was unusual since the XVII century; their quite simple iconography has actually nothing to do with either the 'Grand jeu de Mlle Lenormand' or Marie-Anne Le Normand's own card-reading methods. The miniature cards which sometimes replace the French captions in the upper central part show typical German French-suited patterns. Each card bears one symbol: a ring, a ship, a heart, etc. German, Austrian and even Belgian and Swiss cardmakers have made and still make these 'Petit Lenormands'. Amazingly this type of cards has never been produced in France."

So you can rule out France as the place of origin.

For the date, if there are absolutely no clues in any writing on the cards, then the paper and cut might give an indication. You'd need an expert opinion. If you write me privately here, I'll give you my email address and you can send me pictures, which I can pass on to some experts I know.

Good luck!

Alta

Hi cheva,

To post photos, upload your photos to a free photo sharing site and then post the link to the pictures.

Alta

cheva

!Old Lenormand deck,how old?